Skip to content
GenAI Security Finder

Vendor profile · Read 7 Oct 2026

Cato Networks GenAI security: what its pages state about AI controls

In short

Cato states it runs a single-vendor SASE platform and positions Cato AI Security to secure and govern AI use by employees, homegrown AI applications and AI agents, with one AI-native engine and one console for all three. On the pages we read, Cato Networks states 10 of 13 checks and partly states 1. Its stated responses are Watch, Redact and Block. See its limits below before you shortlist it.

By The Inline Desk · GenAI Security Finder · Published 2026-10-26

Desk research from the six vendors' own public pages, read on 7 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not run the products.

Where does it sit on the Prompt Path?

Cato Networks: described at 2 of 3 control positions (SASE or SSE cloud, standalone AI security layer), partly at 1.>>>>{}People and agentsAI services andMCP serversYour site or data centreSecurity cloud (SASE or SSE)AI gateway and guardrailsFirewall or self-hosted gatewaySSEAIGFWG
  • SSE · Security cloud (SASE or SSE)
  • AIG · AI gateway and guardrails
  • FWG · Firewall or self-hosted gateway
  • Filled square: described on the vendor pages we read
  • Hatched square: partly described (a narrower scope, or the enforcement point is not stated)
  • Dashed square: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
The Prompt Path shows where each vendor's own pages describe a control, or where your answers point. It does not measure how well a product works.
  • SSEIn the security cloudDescribed
  • AIGAt an AI gatewayDescribed
  • FWGOn your own infrastructurePartly described
  • AI controls in a SASE or SSE cloudDescribed

    Cato states AI Security checks every interaction inline on its SASE cloud, with one engine and one console for users, applications and agents.

    Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

  • Standalone AI security layerDescribed

    Protects homegrown AI apps, blocking prompt injection and jailbreaks, through the Cato cloud or the AI gateway you already run.

    Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

  • Firewall or self-hosted AI gatewayPartly described

    Homegrown AI apps can also be protected on-prem with Outposts; self-hosted enforcement for employee AI use is not described.

    Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Which responses does it state?

Cato Networks states Watch, Redact and Block; Coach is not in our sources.

What does it state, check by check?

Cato Networks: thirteen checks, as stated on its own pages, read 7 October 2026.
CheckStatusNote and source
Finds shadow AI useStatedDiscovers shadow AI and coding agents across endpoints and auto-inventories every third-party AI tool, copilot and agent.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security for end users · Read 7 Oct 2026

Inspects prompts for sensitive dataStatedStops data leaks in prompts, with Monitor, Anonymize and Block as policy actions.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Controls AI agent and MCP trafficStatedMaps agents, MCP servers and skills, and inspects agent prompts, responses and tool calls.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Covers coding agentsStatedNames enforcement for Claude Code, Cursor and Codex and stops risky coding-agent tool calls before they run.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Protects homegrown AI apps at runtimeStatedBlocks prompt injection and jailbreaks and red teams homegrown AI apps.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Blocks inline in real timeStatedChecks every interaction inline, with fast checks in milliseconds; Block is one of three policy actions.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Coaches or warns the userNot in our sourcesNot in our sources
Has a watch or log-only actionStatedMonitor is one of three policy actions.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Redacts or anonymizes data in promptsStatedAnonymize is a policy action; Cato states it redacts sensitive data inline.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security for end users · Read 7 Oct 2026

Can run on your own infrastructurePartly statedOn-prem protection with Outposts is described for homegrown AI apps, not for employee AI use.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

States FedRAMPNot in our sourcesNot in our sources
Lists security attestationsStatedLists SOC 2 and SOC 3, PCI-DSS Level 1 Service Provider, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018 and 27701, CSA STAR Self-Assessment, UK Cyber Essentials and Spain ENS High.

Source: Cato Networks: security, compliance and privacy · Read 7 Oct 2026

One console for AI and network policyStatedCato states one AI-native engine and one console cover users, applications and agents.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Strengths

  • One engine and one console for employee AI use, homegrown AI apps and AI agents, on the platform that also carries network and security policy, as Cato describes it.
  • Three stated policy actions, Monitor, Anonymize and Block, so sensitive data can be redacted inline instead of blocking the whole prompt.
  • Names the coding agents it enforces on (Claude Code, Cursor and Codex) and inspects agent tool calls and MCP servers.

Limits

  • FedRAMP is not listed on Cato's compliance page, which matters for US federal buyers.
  • User coaching (warn, then let the person continue) is not described; the stated actions are Monitor, Anonymize and Block.
  • Self-hosted enforcement is described only for homegrown AI apps (Outposts), not for employee AI use, and Cato publishes no count of the AI apps it recognises.

A limit means the pages we read do not state it. Ask the vendor.

Other facts

Cato Networks: facts as stated on its own pages, read 7 October 2026.
Policy actionsMonitor, Anonymize and Block.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

How inspection works, as Cato describes itEvery interaction is checked inline; fast checks run in milliseconds and escalate to purpose-built models and deep reasoning for edge cases. No latency figure beyond milliseconds is given.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

AgentsCovers local, custom and managed AI agents, discovers agents across systems, tools and MCP interactions, logs every interaction and applies runtime controls to stop unsafe actions before execution.

Source: Cato Networks: agentic AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

End usersInspects every prompt and response, applies consistent rules for users and agents, and blocks misuse or redacts sensitive data inline.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security for end users · Read 7 Oct 2026

AI in the consoleCato Copilot answers natural-language questions inside the Cato management application; Cato states its LLM-based DLP can be trained on your own content.

Source: Cato Networks: AI-powered security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Network, in Cato's wordsA cloud-native, private global backbone spanning 100+ PoPs worldwide, with a 99.999% uptime SLA. The SLA terms are not on the page.

Source: Cato Networks: global private backbone · Read 7 Oct 2026

PlatformOne policy engine, one console and single-pass inspection on an SLA-backed global backbone, as Cato describes it.

Source: Cato Networks: SASE platform · Read 7 Oct 2026

Analyst placement, as Cato states itNamed a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms for the third consecutive year (Gartner, Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms, 28 July 2026).

Source: Cato Networks news: Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms · Read 7 Oct 2026

Where its AI security came fromCato's newsroom reposts a Bloomberg report (7 September 2025) that Cato agreed to acquire Aim Security, its first acquisition, to expand into AI security. Deal terms are not stated.

Source: Cato Networks newsroom: Bloomberg report on the Aim Security acquisition · Read 7 Oct 2026

ComplianceSOC 2 and SOC 3, PCI-DSS Level 1 Service Provider, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701 and 14001, UK Cyber Essentials, CSA STAR Self-Assessment, GDPR and Spain ENS High. FedRAMP is not listed on the page.

Source: Cato Networks: security, compliance and privacy · Read 7 Oct 2026

PricingNot published. The address catonetworks.com/pricing/ returned a not-found page on 7 October 2026.

Source: Cato Networks /pricing/ address (returned a not-found page) · Read 7 Oct 2026

In the vendor's words

Which quiz profiles put it in the first group?

Profiles where it is in the first group: 5 of 8.

Compare with

Questions

Does Cato Networks publish pricing?

Not published. The address catonetworks.com/pricing/ returned a not-found page on 7 October 2026.

Does Cato Networks cover AI agents and MCP?

Stated: Maps agents, MCP servers and skills, and inspects agent prompts, responses and tool calls.

Does Cato Networks state FedRAMP?

Not in our sources: Not in our sources: FedRAMP is not stated on the pages we read.