Vendor profile · Read 7 Oct 2026
Cisco GenAI security: what its pages state about AI controls
In short
Cisco offers AI Access as a feature set of Cisco Secure Access, its cloud-delivered security service edge, and Cisco AI Defense for AI models and applications. Its SASE pairs Secure Access with Cisco SD-WAN or Meraki SD-WAN. On the pages we read, Cisco states 4 of 13 checks and partly states 5. Its stated responses are Block. See its limits below before you shortlist it.
By The Inline Desk · GenAI Security Finder · Published 2026-10-26
Desk research from the six vendors' own public pages, read on 7 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not run the products.
Where does it sit on the Prompt Path?
- SSE · Security cloud (SASE or SSE)
- AIG · AI gateway and guardrails
- FWG · Firewall or self-hosted gateway
- Filled square: described on the vendor pages we read
- Hatched square: partly described (a narrower scope, or the enforcement point is not stated)
- Dashed square: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
- SSEIn the security cloudDescribed
- AIGAt an AI gatewayDescribed
- FWGOn your own infrastructureNot in our sources
- AI controls in a SASE or SSE cloudDescribed
AI Access is described as a fully integrated feature set of Cisco Secure Access SSE that inspects web traffic to identify shadow AI.
Source: Cisco Secure Access: AI Access · Read 7 Oct 2026
- Standalone AI security layerDescribed
AI Defense includes AI Runtime Protection, AI Model and Application Validation, AI Cloud Visibility, AI Access and AI Supply Chain Risk Management.
Source: Cisco AI Defense · Read 7 Oct 2026
- Firewall or self-hosted AI gatewayNot in our sources
Not described on the pages we read.
Which responses does it state?
Cisco states Block; Watch and Coach are partly stated; Redact is not in our sources.
- Watch: Inline runtime monitoring and semantic inspection are described for agents; a watch-only action for employee AI use is not named.
Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026
- Coach: Can redirect requests to approved services; user coaching is not named.
Source: Cisco Secure Access: AI Access · Read 7 Oct 2026
- Redact: Not in our sources
- Block: Detects and blocks malicious and undesired AI traffic using multiple enforcement points.
Source: Cisco Secure Access: AI Access · Read 7 Oct 2026
What does it state, check by check?
| Check | Status | Note and source |
|---|---|---|
| Finds shadow AI use | Stated | Inspects web traffic to identify shadow AI, including API calls made to AI models inside AI-enhanced applications. Source: Cisco Secure Access: AI Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Inspects prompts for sensitive data | Partly stated | AI Defense names data leakage among the runtime threats it addresses; prompt-level DLP is not described on the pages we read. Source: Cisco AI Defense · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Controls AI agent and MCP traffic | Partly stated | Secure Access registers every agent, maps it to a human owner, and quarantines compromised agents with inline runtime monitoring; MCP is not mentioned on the pages we read. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Covers coding agents | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| Protects homegrown AI apps at runtime | Stated | AI Runtime Protection places guardrails in the network to block adversarial attacks and harmful responses in real time. Source: Cisco AI Defense · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Blocks inline in real time | Stated | Detects and blocks malicious and undesired AI traffic using multiple enforcement points. Source: Cisco Secure Access: AI Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Coaches or warns the user | Partly stated | Can redirect requests to approved services; user coaching is not named. Source: Cisco Secure Access: AI Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Has a watch or log-only action | Partly stated | Inline runtime monitoring and semantic inspection are described for agents; a watch-only action for employee AI use is not named. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Redacts or anonymizes data in prompts | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| Can run on your own infrastructure | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| States FedRAMP | Partly stated | Cisco Secure Access states FedRAMP authorization covering Secure Internet Access, VPNaaS and ZTNA; AI Access is not named in that scope. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Lists security attestations | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| One console for AI and network policy | Stated | Single console, unified client and centralized policy management for Secure Access, with AI Access integrated into it. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
Strengths
- AI Access is part of Cisco Secure Access, managed from one console with centralized policy.
- Agent controls tied to identity: each agent registered, mapped to a human owner and given short-lived, least-privilege tokens.
- Cisco Secure Access states FedRAMP authorization for its core access services.
Limits
- Prompt-level DLP, named coding agents and MCP are not described on the pages we read.
- The stated FedRAMP scope names Secure Internet Access, VPNaaS and ZTNA, not AI Access or AI Defense.
A limit means the pages we read do not state it. Ask the vendor.
Other facts
| Agent access | Intent-aware access authorization for every agent interaction, with short-lived, least-privilege access tokens. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
|---|---|
| Free tool | Cisco AI Defense: Explorer Edition, for red teaming models and agents, is offered free. Source: Cisco AI Defense · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| SASE assembly | The SASE solution page lists Secure Access, Cisco SD-WAN and Cisco Meraki SD-WAN as separate products. Source: Cisco: SASE solution · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Third-party test, as Cisco reports it | An AAA rating from SE Labs in its first Zero Trust Access test. We did not read the report. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Analyst placement, as Cisco states it | The SASE page says "Cisco named a SASE Leader"; the analyst firm and report name are not given in the page text. Source: Cisco: SASE solution · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Network | No PoP or data-centre count on the pages we read. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Compliance | FedRAMP authorization for Secure Internet Access, VPNaaS and ZTNA. Other certifications are not stated on the page. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Pricing | Not published on the pages we read. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
Which quiz profiles put it in the first group?
Profiles where it is in the first group: 1 of 8.
Compare with
Questions
Does Cisco publish pricing?
Not published on the pages we read.
Does Cisco cover AI agents and MCP?
Partly stated: Secure Access registers every agent, maps it to a human owner, and quarantines compromised agents with inline runtime monitoring; MCP is not mentioned on the pages we read.
Does Cisco state FedRAMP?
Partly stated: Cisco Secure Access states FedRAMP authorization covering Secure Internet Access, VPNaaS and ZTNA; AI Access is not named in that scope.