Skip to content
GenAI Security Finder

Vendor profile · Read 7 Oct 2026

Palo Alto Networks GenAI security: what its pages state about AI controls

In short

Palo Alto Networks sells AI Access Security as part of Prisma SASE for employee use of GenAI apps, and Prisma AIRS as a separate platform that it says secures AI agents, apps, models and data from development to deployment. On the pages we read, Palo Alto Networks states 7 of 13 checks and partly states 3. Its stated responses are Coach and Block. See its limits below before you shortlist it.

By The Inline Desk · GenAI Security Finder · Published 2026-10-26

Desk research from the six vendors' own public pages, read on 7 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not run the products.

Where does it sit on the Prompt Path?

Palo Alto Networks: described at 2 of 3 control positions (SASE or SSE cloud, standalone AI security layer).>>>>{}People and agentsAI services andMCP serversYour site or data centreSecurity cloud (SASE or SSE)AI gateway and guardrailsFirewall or self-hosted gatewaySSEAIGFWG
  • SSE · Security cloud (SASE or SSE)
  • AIG · AI gateway and guardrails
  • FWG · Firewall or self-hosted gateway
  • Filled square: described on the vendor pages we read
  • Hatched square: partly described (a narrower scope, or the enforcement point is not stated)
  • Dashed square: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
The Prompt Path shows where each vendor's own pages describe a control, or where your answers point. It does not measure how well a product works.
  • SSEIn the security cloudDescribed
  • AIGAt an AI gatewayDescribed
  • FWGOn your own infrastructureNot in our sources
  • AI controls in a SASE or SSE cloudDescribed

    AI Access Security is listed in the Prisma SASE product family and gives visibility into shadow AI with inline data controls.

    Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

  • Standalone AI security layerDescribed

    Prisma AIRS includes an AI Gateway, AI Runtime Security, AI Red Teaming, AI Posture Management and Agent Identity Security.

    Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma AIRS · Read 7 Oct 2026

  • Firewall or self-hosted AI gatewayNot in our sources

    Not described on the pages we read.

Which responses does it state?

Palo Alto Networks states Coach and Block; Watch and Redact are not in our sources.

  • Watch: Not in our sources
  • Coach: User coaching notifications when people access unsanctioned apps.

    Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

  • Redact: Not in our sources
  • Block: Inline data detection blocks sensitive data, and the page states it stops AI-generated threats in real time.

    Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

What does it state, check by check?

Palo Alto Networks: thirteen checks, as stated on its own pages, read 7 October 2026.
CheckStatusNote and source
Finds shadow AI useStatedVisibility into shadow AI, covering GenAI applications, agents and marketplace plugins, with real-time visibility into which apps are used and by whom.

Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Inspects prompts for sensitive dataStatedLLM-powered data classification augments DLP, and inline data detection blocks sensitive text- and file-based data.

Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Controls AI agent and MCP trafficPartly statedPrisma AIRS lists Agent Identity Security and governance of AI agents at scale; MCP is not mentioned on the pages we read.

Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma AIRS · Read 7 Oct 2026

Covers coding agentsStatedPrisma AIRS lists securing AI coding agents: protect code and credentials, govern agent actions. Named coding tools are not listed.

Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma AIRS · Read 7 Oct 2026

Protects homegrown AI apps at runtimeStatedAI Runtime Security enforces real-time safeguards to prevent manipulation, data exposure and unsafe actions.

Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma AIRS · Read 7 Oct 2026

Blocks inline in real timeStatedInline data detection blocks sensitive data, and the page states it stops AI-generated threats in real time.

Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Coaches or warns the userStatedUser coaching notifications when people access unsanctioned apps.

Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Has a watch or log-only actionNot in our sourcesNot in our sources
Redacts or anonymizes data in promptsNot in our sourcesNot in our sources
Can run on your own infrastructureNot in our sourcesNot in our sources
States FedRAMPPartly statedThe trust center certifications page lists FedRAMP and StateRAMP; which products each covers is not stated in the text we read.

Source: Palo Alto Networks trust center: certifications · Read 7 Oct 2026

Lists security attestationsStatedThe trust center lists SOC 2+, Germany C5, PCI DSS and IRAP, among others.

Source: Palo Alto Networks trust center: certifications · Read 7 Oct 2026

One console for AI and network policyPartly statedStrata Cloud Manager with Strata Copilot manages SASE policy; Prisma AIRS is described as its own platform.

Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Strengths

  • Two named products for two jobs: AI Access Security in Prisma SASE for employee GenAI use, and Prisma AIRS for agents, apps and models.
  • States both user coaching and inline blocking, plus app classification as sanctioned, tolerated or unsanctioned.
  • Publishes counts for its GenAI app catalogue and data classifiers, as self-reported figures.

Limits

  • MCP traffic is not mentioned on the AI Access Security or Prisma AIRS pages we read.
  • Employee AI controls and Prisma AIRS are described as separate products; one console across both is not described.
  • Redacting sensitive data inside a prompt is not described; the stated responses are coaching and blocking.

A limit means the pages we read do not state it. Ask the vendor.

Other facts

Palo Alto Networks: facts as stated on its own pages, read 7 October 2026.
App controlsClassifies GenAI apps as sanctioned, tolerated or unsanctioned, with control over actions such as upload and download.

Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Catalogue counts, as Palo Alto Networks states them4000+ GenAI applications, 80+ GenAI-specific attributes and 300+ ML data classifiers.

Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Prisma AIRS modulesAI Gateway, AI Supply Chain Security (formerly AI Model Security), AI Red Teaming, AI Runtime Security, AI Posture Management, Agent Identity Security and Agentic Endpoint Security.

Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma AIRS · Read 7 Oct 2026

AI in the consoleStrata Copilot, powered by Precision AI, helps enforce access, data and security policies based on real-time traffic.

Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Network, in Palo Alto Networks' wordsA 99.999% uptime SLA on its hyperscale backbone. No PoP or location count in the Prisma Access page text.

Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma Access · Read 7 Oct 2026

Analyst placement, as Palo Alto Networks states itThe Prisma SASE page says "A 4X Gartner Magic Quadrant Leader for SASE Platforms". Its Prisma Access page uses a different count, so we cite the Prisma SASE page only.

Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma SASE · Read 7 Oct 2026

ComplianceThe trust center lists SOC 2+, Germany C5, PCI DSS, IRAP, FedRAMP and StateRAMP, among others; product scope is not stated in the text we read.

Source: Palo Alto Networks trust center: certifications · Read 7 Oct 2026

PricingNot published. The Prisma Access page implies per-mobile-user licensing.

Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma Access · Read 7 Oct 2026

In the vendor's words

Which quiz profiles put it in the first group?

Profiles where it is in the first group: 4 of 8.

Compare with

Questions

Does Palo Alto Networks publish pricing?

Not published. The Prisma Access page implies per-mobile-user licensing.

Does Palo Alto Networks cover AI agents and MCP?

Partly stated: Prisma AIRS lists Agent Identity Security and governance of AI agents at scale; MCP is not mentioned on the pages we read.

Does Palo Alto Networks state FedRAMP?

Partly stated: The trust center certifications page lists FedRAMP and StateRAMP; which products each covers is not stated in the text we read.