Skip to content
GenAI Security Finder

Vendor profile · Read 7 Oct 2026

Zscaler GenAI security: what its pages state about AI controls

In short

Zscaler sells AI controls on its Zero Trust Exchange, which it describes as a proxy architecture with full TLS/SSL inspection, and lists AI security with branch and SSE in its Zero Trust SASE offer. On the pages we read, Zscaler states 6 of 13 checks and partly states 3. Its stated responses are Coach and Block. See its limits below before you shortlist it.

By The Inline Desk · GenAI Security Finder · Published 2026-10-26

Desk research from the six vendors' own public pages, read on 7 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not run the products.

Where does it sit on the Prompt Path?

Zscaler: described at 2 of 3 control positions (SASE or SSE cloud, standalone AI security layer).>>>>{}People and agentsAI services andMCP serversYour site or data centreSecurity cloud (SASE or SSE)AI gateway and guardrailsFirewall or self-hosted gatewaySSEAIGFWG
  • SSE · Security cloud (SASE or SSE)
  • AIG · AI gateway and guardrails
  • FWG · Firewall or self-hosted gateway
  • Filled square: described on the vendor pages we read
  • Hatched square: partly described (a narrower scope, or the enforcement point is not stated)
  • Dashed square: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
The Prompt Path shows where each vendor's own pages describe a control, or where your answers point. It does not measure how well a product works.
  • SSEIn the security cloudDescribed
  • AIGAt an AI gatewayDescribed
  • FWGOn your own infrastructureNot in our sources
  • AI controls in a SASE or SSE cloudDescribed

    AI Access Security detects and classifies AI apps and moderates prompt content on the Zero Trust Exchange.

    Source: Zscaler: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

  • Standalone AI security layerDescribed

    An AI Gateway routes, secures and governs every AI transaction, with inline DLP applied to every model, agent and API call.

    Source: Zscaler: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

  • Firewall or self-hosted AI gatewayNot in our sources

    Not described on the pages we read.

Which responses does it state?

Zscaler states Coach and Block; Redact is partly stated; Watch is not in our sources.

  • Watch: Not in our sources
  • Coach: Allow, block or coach access by users or user groups.

    Source: Zscaler: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

  • Redact: Filters sensitive data from LLMs; how data inside a prompt is masked is not described.

    Source: Zscaler: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

  • Block: Block access by role in real time.

    Source: Zscaler: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

What does it state, check by check?

Zscaler: thirteen checks, as stated on its own pages, read 7 October 2026.
CheckStatusNote and source
Finds shadow AI useStatedDetects and classifies thousands of AI apps, including AI embedded in popular SaaS applications; AI Asset Management auto-discovers models, agents, MCP servers and shadow AI.

Source: Zscaler: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Inspects prompts for sensitive dataStatedPrompt and response extraction and classification, with controls to prevent sensitive data from leaving the organization.

Source: Zscaler: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Controls AI agent and MCP trafficStatedSecures agentic communications through MCP and A2A brokers and governs agent-to-agent traffic.

Source: Zscaler: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Covers coding agentsPartly statedZero trust access to AI developer tools with inline controls; named coding agents are not listed.

Source: Zscaler: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Protects homegrown AI apps at runtimeStatedThe AI Gateway applies inline DLP and Zero Trust to every model, agent and API call; AI red teaming is offered.

Source: Zscaler: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Blocks inline in real timeStatedBlock access by role in real time.

Source: Zscaler: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Coaches or warns the userStatedAllow, block or coach access by users or user groups.

Source: Zscaler: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Has a watch or log-only actionNot in our sourcesNot in our sources
Redacts or anonymizes data in promptsPartly statedFilters sensitive data from LLMs; how data inside a prompt is masked is not described.

Source: Zscaler: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Can run on your own infrastructureNot in our sourcesNot in our sources
States FedRAMPNot in our sourcesNot in our sources
Lists security attestationsNot in our sourcesNot in our sources
One console for AI and network policyPartly statedZero Trust SASE Everywhere lists branch, SSE and AI security together; one console for AI and network policy is not described.

Source: Zscaler: Zero Trust SASE · Read 7 Oct 2026

Strengths

  • States MCP and A2A brokers for agent traffic, plus discovery of models, agents and MCP servers.
  • States allow, block and coach responses for AI app access, by user or group.
  • Red teaming mapped to MITRE ATLAS, NIST and the EU AI Act, as Zscaler describes it.

Limits

  • Compliance certifications, including FedRAMP, are not stated on the pages we read.
  • A watch-only action and named coding agents are not described on the pages we read.
  • One console for AI and network policy is not described.

A limit means the pages we read do not state it. Ask the vendor.

Other facts

Zscaler: facts as stated on its own pages, read 7 October 2026.
Architecture, in Zscaler's wordsA proxy architecture that enables full TLS/SSL inspection at scale.

Source: Zscaler: Zero Trust Exchange · Read 7 Oct 2026

Counts, as Zscaler states themAI Asset Management traces data-to-AI lineage across 2,900+ apps; the AI Access page says thousands of AI apps. Red teaming tests 5,000+ attack scenarios.

Source: Zscaler: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Red teaming frameworksScenarios across text, image, voice and documents, mapped to MITRE ATLAS, NIST and the EU AI Act.

Source: Zscaler: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

NetworkNo data-centre or PoP count on the pages we read.

Source: Zscaler: Zero Trust Exchange · Read 7 Oct 2026

Analyst placement, as Zscaler states itRecognized as a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant reports for SASE and SSE.

Source: Zscaler: Zero Trust SASE · Read 7 Oct 2026

ComplianceNot stated on the pages we read.

Source: Zscaler: Zero Trust SASE · Read 7 Oct 2026

PricingNot published on the pages we read.

Source: Zscaler: Zero Trust SASE · Read 7 Oct 2026

In the vendor's words

Which quiz profiles put it in the first group?

Profiles where it is in the first group: 1 of 8.

Compare with

Questions

Does Zscaler publish pricing?

Not published on the pages we read.

Does Zscaler cover AI agents and MCP?

Stated: Secures agentic communications through MCP and A2A brokers and governs agent-to-agent traffic.

Does Zscaler state FedRAMP?

Not in our sources: Not in our sources: FedRAMP is not stated on the pages we read.