Compare · 2 to 6 vendors
GenAI security facts side by side: compare two to six vendors
In short
Choose two to six vendors to put their published AI security facts in one table: the three approaches, thirteen checks, stated responses, network wording, compliance and analyst placement as each vendor states it. No totals or ranks are shown. The page opens with all six in alphabetical order.
| Item | Cato Networks | Cisco | Fortinet | Netskope | Palo Alto Networks | Zscaler |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Approaches | ||||||
| AI controls in a SASE or SSE cloud | DescribedNoteCato states AI Security checks every interaction inline on its SASE cloud, with one engine and one console for users, applications and agents. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | DescribedNoteAI Access is described as a fully integrated feature set of Cisco Secure Access SSE that inspects web traffic to identify shadow AI. Source: Cisco Secure Access: AI Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly describedNoteFortinet sells FortiSASE, and its AI security page describes AI app discovery and prompt blocking; which enforcement point delivers these is not stated on the pages we read. Source: Fortinet: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | DescribedNoteNetskope's generative AI page describes fine-grained policies by user behaviour and data sensitivity, with controls on uploading, copying and printing within AI apps. Source: Netskope: securing generative AI · Read 7 Oct 2026 | DescribedNoteAI Access Security is listed in the Prisma SASE product family and gives visibility into shadow AI with inline data controls. Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | DescribedNoteAI Access Security detects and classifies AI apps and moderates prompt content on the Zero Trust Exchange. Source: Zscaler: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Standalone AI security layer | DescribedNoteProtects homegrown AI apps, blocking prompt injection and jailbreaks, through the Cato cloud or the AI gateway you already run. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | DescribedNoteAI Defense includes AI Runtime Protection, AI Model and Application Validation, AI Cloud Visibility, AI Access and AI Supply Chain Risk Management. Source: Cisco AI Defense · Read 7 Oct 2026 | DescribedNoteFortiAIGate secures and governs AI apps and agent traffic at runtime from one control point. Source: Fortinet: FortiAIGate · Read 7 Oct 2026 | DescribedNoteAn AI Gateway for API traffic between custom-built apps and LLMs, and AI Guardrails as a dedicated runtime defense layer. Source: Netskope: AI Guardrails · Read 7 Oct 2026 | DescribedNotePrisma AIRS includes an AI Gateway, AI Runtime Security, AI Red Teaming, AI Posture Management and Agent Identity Security. Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma AIRS · Read 7 Oct 2026 | DescribedNoteAn AI Gateway routes, secures and governs every AI transaction, with inline DLP applied to every model, agent and API call. Source: Zscaler: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Firewall or self-hosted AI gateway | Partly describedNoteHomegrown AI apps can also be protected on-prem with Outposts; self-hosted enforcement for employee AI use is not described. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sourcesNoteNot described on the pages we read. | DescribedNoteFortiAIGate is described as a purpose-built FortiGate; with self-hosting, data and logs stay on your infrastructure. Source: Fortinet: FortiAIGate · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sourcesNoteNot described on the pages we read. | Not in our sourcesNoteNot described on the pages we read. | Not in our sourcesNoteNot described on the pages we read. |
| Checks | ||||||
| Finds shadow AI use | StatedNoteDiscovers shadow AI and coding agents across endpoints and auto-inventories every third-party AI tool, copilot and agent. Source: Cato Networks: AI security for end users · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteInspects web traffic to identify shadow AI, including API calls made to AI models inside AI-enhanced applications. Source: Cisco Secure Access: AI Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteDiscovers AI applications in use with their categories, use cases, risk levels and log details. Source: Fortinet: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly statedNoteContinuous discovery of remote MCP servers, clients, tools, resources and prompt requests, and an App Catalog MCP inventory; general GenAI app discovery is not detailed on the pages we read. Source: Netskope: Agentic Broker · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteVisibility into shadow AI, covering GenAI applications, agents and marketplace plugins, with real-time visibility into which apps are used and by whom. Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteDetects and classifies thousands of AI apps, including AI embedded in popular SaaS applications; AI Asset Management auto-discovers models, agents, MCP servers and shadow AI. Source: Zscaler: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Inspects prompts for sensitive data | StatedNoteStops data leaks in prompts, with Monitor, Anonymize and Block as policy actions. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly statedNoteAI Defense names data leakage among the runtime threats it addresses; prompt-level DLP is not described on the pages we read. Source: Cisco AI Defense · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteFortiAIGate checks prompts and outputs before they reach users or systems and is described as stopping data leaks. Source: Fortinet: FortiAIGate · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteWith Netskope One DLP, the broker applies real-time policies that identify and block sensitive information. Source: Netskope: Agentic Broker · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteLLM-powered data classification augments DLP, and inline data detection blocks sensitive text- and file-based data. Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNotePrompt and response extraction and classification, with controls to prevent sensitive data from leaving the organization. Source: Zscaler: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Controls AI agent and MCP traffic | StatedNoteMaps agents, MCP servers and skills, and inspects agent prompts, responses and tool calls. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly statedNoteSecure Access registers every agent, maps it to a human owner, and quarantines compromised agents with inline runtime monitoring; MCP is not mentioned on the pages we read. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteChecks agent tool calls and catches prompt injection, jailbreaks and data leaks in MCP tool traffic. Source: Fortinet: FortiAIGate · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteAgentic Broker detects and decodes MCP traffic, blocks unauthorized MCP communication to remote MCP servers and enforces least-privilege access. Source: Netskope: Agentic Broker · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly statedNotePrisma AIRS lists Agent Identity Security and governance of AI agents at scale; MCP is not mentioned on the pages we read. Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma AIRS · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteSecures agentic communications through MCP and A2A brokers and governs agent-to-agent traffic. Source: Zscaler: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Covers coding agents | StatedNoteNames enforcement for Claude Code, Cursor and Codex and stops risky coding-agent tool calls before they run. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources | Not in our sources | Partly statedNoteThe MCP inventory covers clients including ChatGPT, Cursor and VS Code; coding-agent controls beyond MCP are not described. Source: Netskope: Agentic Broker · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNotePrisma AIRS lists securing AI coding agents: protect code and credentials, govern agent actions. Named coding tools are not listed. Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma AIRS · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly statedNoteZero trust access to AI developer tools with inline controls; named coding agents are not listed. Source: Zscaler: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Protects homegrown AI apps at runtime | StatedNoteBlocks prompt injection and jailbreaks and red teams homegrown AI apps. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteAI Runtime Protection places guardrails in the network to block adversarial attacks and harmful responses in real time. Source: Cisco AI Defense · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteGuardrails check text, images, audio, video and code, and catch prompt injection and jailbreaks. Source: Fortinet: FortiAIGate · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteAI Guardrails mitigate prompt injection and jailbreak attempts through real-time analysis, inspecting requests and responses in 29 languages. Source: Netskope: AI Guardrails · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteAI Runtime Security enforces real-time safeguards to prevent manipulation, data exposure and unsafe actions. Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma AIRS · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteThe AI Gateway applies inline DLP and Zero Trust to every model, agent and API call; AI red teaming is offered. Source: Zscaler: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Blocks inline in real time | StatedNoteChecks every interaction inline, with fast checks in milliseconds; Block is one of three policy actions. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteDetects and blocks malicious and undesired AI traffic using multiple enforcement points. Source: Cisco Secure Access: AI Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteFortiAI blocks unauthorized prompts; FortiAIGate is described as stopping harmful AI content in real time. Source: Fortinet: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteBlocks unauthorized MCP communication and sensitive information with real-time policies. Source: Netskope: Agentic Broker · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteInline data detection blocks sensitive data, and the page states it stops AI-generated threats in real time. Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Stated |
| Coaches or warns the user | Not in our sources | Partly statedNoteCan redirect requests to approved services; user coaching is not named. Source: Cisco Secure Access: AI Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteUser coaching drives correct behavior and captures artifacts for intent investigation. Source: Fortinet: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly statedNoteFine-grained policies beyond simple allow-or-block, based on user behaviour and data sensitivity; coaching is not named. Source: Netskope: securing generative AI · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteUser coaching notifications when people access unsanctioned apps. Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteAllow, block or coach access by users or user groups. Source: Zscaler: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Has a watch or log-only action | Stated | Partly statedNoteInline runtime monitoring and semantic inspection are described for agents; a watch-only action for employee AI use is not named. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteApply guardrails, monitor activity and adjust policies in real time. Source: Fortinet: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| Redacts or anonymizes data in prompts | StatedNoteAnonymize is a policy action; Cato states it redacts sensitive data inline. Source: Cato Networks: AI security for end users · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources | Not in our sources | Not in our sources | Not in our sources | Partly statedNoteFilters sensitive data from LLMs; how data inside a prompt is masked is not described. Source: Zscaler: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Can run on your own infrastructure | Partly statedNoteOn-prem protection with Outposts is described for homegrown AI apps, not for employee AI use. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources | StatedNoteWith self-hosting, data and logs stay on your infrastructure; FortiSASE also has a Sovereign option deployed in the customer's own data centres. Source: Fortinet: FortiAIGate · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources | Not in our sources | Not in our sources |
| States FedRAMP | Not in our sources | Partly statedNoteCisco Secure Access states FedRAMP authorization covering Secure Internet Access, VPNaaS and ZTNA; AI Access is not named in that scope. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources | Partly statedNoteNetskope states it achieved FedRAMP High Authorization (GovCloud); which services are in scope is not stated on the page we read. Source: Netskope: security, compliance and assurance · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly statedNoteThe trust center certifications page lists FedRAMP and StateRAMP; which products each covers is not stated in the text we read. Source: Palo Alto Networks trust center: certifications · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources |
| Lists security attestations | StatedNoteLists SOC 2 and SOC 3, PCI-DSS Level 1 Service Provider, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018 and 27701, CSA STAR Self-Assessment, UK Cyber Essentials and Spain ENS High. Source: Cato Networks: security, compliance and privacy · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources | Partly statedNoteThe trust page states alignment with the ISO/IEC 27000 series and NIST 800-53; specific certifications for FortiSASE are not stated in the text we read. Source: Fortinet: trust · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteLists AICPA SOC 2, C5, CSA STAR Level II, IRAP and the Data Privacy Framework; SOC 2 and C5 reports on request. Source: Netskope: security, compliance and assurance · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteThe trust center lists SOC 2+, Germany C5, PCI DSS and IRAP, among others. Source: Palo Alto Networks trust center: certifications · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources |
| One console for AI and network policy | StatedNoteCato states one AI-native engine and one console cover users, applications and agents. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | StatedNoteSingle console, unified client and centralized policy management for Secure Access, with AI Access integrated into it. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly statedNoteUnified SASE is built on a single OS, policy engine and management plane; FortiAIGate is described as a separate control point. Source: Fortinet: Unified SASE · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly statedNoteNetskope One states one engine, one client, one console and one network; how the AI products sit in that console is not described. Source: Netskope One · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly statedNoteStrata Cloud Manager with Strata Copilot manages SASE policy; Prisma AIRS is described as its own platform. Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly statedNoteZero Trust SASE Everywhere lists branch, SSE and AI security together; one console for AI and network policy is not described. Source: Zscaler: Zero Trust SASE · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Responses | ||||||
| Watch, coach, redact, block | Cato Networks states Watch, Redact and Block; Coach is not in our sources. | Cisco states Block; Watch and Coach are partly stated; Redact is not in our sources. | Fortinet states Watch, Coach and Block; Redact is not in our sources. | Netskope states Block; Coach is partly stated; Watch and Redact are not in our sources. | Palo Alto Networks states Coach and Block; Watch and Redact are not in our sources. | Zscaler states Coach and Block; Redact is partly stated; Watch is not in our sources. |
| In the vendor's words | ||||||
| Network | A cloud-native, private global backbone spanning 100+ PoPs worldwide, with a 99.999% uptime SLA. The SLA terms are not on the page. Source: Cato Networks: global private backbone · Read 7 Oct 2026 | No PoP or data-centre count on the pages we read. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | A global network of 200+ PoPs on Fortinet-owned infrastructure, extended through integration with AWS, Google Cloud and Oracle Cloud. Source: Fortinet: FortiSASE · Read 7 Oct 2026 | NewEdge is powered by 120+ data centers in 80+ regions, including Mainland China, with full compute and all SASE services at the edge in every location. Source: Netskope: NewEdge · Read 7 Oct 2026 | A 99.999% uptime SLA on its hyperscale backbone. No PoP or location count in the Prisma Access page text. Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | No data-centre or PoP count on the pages we read. Source: Zscaler: Zero Trust Exchange · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Compliance | SOC 2 and SOC 3, PCI-DSS Level 1 Service Provider, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701 and 14001, UK Cyber Essentials, CSA STAR Self-Assessment, GDPR and Spain ENS High. FedRAMP is not listed on the page. Source: Cato Networks: security, compliance and privacy · Read 7 Oct 2026 | FedRAMP authorization for Secure Internet Access, VPNaaS and ZTNA. Other certifications are not stated on the page. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | PSIRT disclosure aligned with ISO/IEC 30111 and 29147; security aligned with the ISO/IEC 27000 series and NIST 800-53. FortiSASE certifications such as SOC 2 or FedRAMP are not stated in the text we read. Source: Fortinet: trust · Read 7 Oct 2026 | FedRAMP High Authorization (GovCloud), AICPA SOC 2, C5, CSA STAR Level II, IRAP and the Data Privacy Framework. Source: Netskope: security, compliance and assurance · Read 7 Oct 2026 | The trust center lists SOC 2+, Germany C5, PCI DSS, IRAP, FedRAMP and StateRAMP, among others; product scope is not stated in the text we read. Source: Palo Alto Networks trust center: certifications · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not stated on the pages we read. Source: Zscaler: Zero Trust SASE · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Analyst placement | Named a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms for the third consecutive year (Gartner, Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms, 28 July 2026). Source: Cato Networks news: Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms · Read 7 Oct 2026 | The SASE page says "Cisco named a SASE Leader"; the analyst firm and report name are not given in the page text. Source: Cisco: SASE solution · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Recognized as a Challenger in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms. Source: Fortinet: FortiSASE · Read 7 Oct 2026 | A 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant Leader for SASE Platforms and for Security Service Edge. Source: Netskope: 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant reports for SASE Platforms and SSE · Read 7 Oct 2026 | The Prisma SASE page says "A 4X Gartner Magic Quadrant Leader for SASE Platforms". Its Prisma Access page uses a different count, so we cite the Prisma SASE page only. Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma SASE · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Recognized as a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant reports for SASE and SSE. Source: Zscaler: Zero Trust SASE · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Pricing | Not published. The address catonetworks.com/pricing/ returned a not-found page on 7 October 2026. Source: Cato Networks /pricing/ address (returned a not-found page) · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not published on the pages we read. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not published. Fortinet mentions flexible licensing packages and links an ordering guide, which we did not open. Source: Fortinet: FortiSASE · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not published on the pages we read. Source: Netskope One · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not published. The Prisma Access page implies per-mobile-user licensing. Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not published on the pages we read. Source: Zscaler: Zero Trust SASE · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
Checks every selected vendor states: Protects homegrown AI apps at runtime and Blocks inline in real time.
Checks none of the selected vendors states: States FedRAMP.
Questions
Why are there no totals?
Because a total would hide the check that matters to you. Use the quiz to weight checks by your own answers.
Can I share a comparison?
Yes. The selected vendors are kept in the address bar.
Why do network figures look different?
Each vendor states its network on its own basis, such as PoPs, data centers or regions. We quote each as written and do not compare them.