Side by side · No scores
Cato Networks and Cisco: GenAI security controls side by side
In short
Cato Networks and Cisco both state finds shadow AI use, protects homegrown AI apps at runtime, blocks inline in real time and one console for AI and network policy. Cato Networks states inspects prompts for sensitive data, controls AI agent and MCP traffic, covers coding agents, has a watch or log-only action, redacts or anonymizes data in prompts and lists security attestations, while Cisco states nothing that Cato Networks does not. This page compares published facts only; it does not pick a side.
By The Inline Desk · GenAI Security Finder · Published 2026-10-26
Desk research from the six vendors' own public pages, read on 7 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not run the products.
- SSE · Security cloud (SASE or SSE)
- AIG · AI gateway and guardrails
- FWG · Firewall or self-hosted gateway
- Cato Networks: filled square where described
- Cisco: dashed outline where described
- Filled square: described on the vendor pages we read
- Hatched square: partly described (a narrower scope, or the enforcement point is not stated)
- Dashed square: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
Check by check
| Check | Cato Networks | Cisco | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Finds shadow AI use | Stated Discovers shadow AI and coding agents across endpoints and auto-inventories every third-party AI tool, copilot and agent. Source: Cato Networks: AI security for end users · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Stated Inspects web traffic to identify shadow AI, including API calls made to AI models inside AI-enhanced applications. Source: Cisco Secure Access: AI Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Same status |
| Inspects prompts for sensitive data | Stated Stops data leaks in prompts, with Monitor, Anonymize and Block as policy actions. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly stated AI Defense names data leakage among the runtime threats it addresses; prompt-level DLP is not described on the pages we read. Source: Cisco AI Defense · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Cato Networks states it |
| Controls AI agent and MCP traffic | Stated Maps agents, MCP servers and skills, and inspects agent prompts, responses and tool calls. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly stated Secure Access registers every agent, maps it to a human owner, and quarantines compromised agents with inline runtime monitoring; MCP is not mentioned on the pages we read. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Cato Networks states it |
| Covers coding agents | Stated Names enforcement for Claude Code, Cursor and Codex and stops risky coding-agent tool calls before they run. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources | Cato Networks states it |
| Protects homegrown AI apps at runtime | Stated Blocks prompt injection and jailbreaks and red teams homegrown AI apps. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Stated AI Runtime Protection places guardrails in the network to block adversarial attacks and harmful responses in real time. Source: Cisco AI Defense · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Same status |
| Blocks inline in real time | Stated Checks every interaction inline, with fast checks in milliseconds; Block is one of three policy actions. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Stated Detects and blocks malicious and undesired AI traffic using multiple enforcement points. Source: Cisco Secure Access: AI Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Same status |
| Coaches or warns the user | Not in our sources | Partly stated Can redirect requests to approved services; user coaching is not named. Source: Cisco Secure Access: AI Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Cisco partly |
| Has a watch or log-only action | Stated Monitor is one of three policy actions. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly stated Inline runtime monitoring and semantic inspection are described for agents; a watch-only action for employee AI use is not named. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Cato Networks states it |
| Redacts or anonymizes data in prompts | Stated Anonymize is a policy action; Cato states it redacts sensitive data inline. Source: Cato Networks: AI security for end users · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources | Cato Networks states it |
| Can run on your own infrastructure | Partly stated On-prem protection with Outposts is described for homegrown AI apps, not for employee AI use. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources | Cato Networks partly |
| States FedRAMP | Not in our sources | Partly stated Cisco Secure Access states FedRAMP authorization covering Secure Internet Access, VPNaaS and ZTNA; AI Access is not named in that scope. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Cisco partly |
| Lists security attestations | Stated Lists SOC 2 and SOC 3, PCI-DSS Level 1 Service Provider, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018 and 27701, CSA STAR Self-Assessment, UK Cyber Essentials and Spain ENS High. Source: Cato Networks: security, compliance and privacy · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources | Cato Networks states it |
| One console for AI and network policy | Stated Cato states one AI-native engine and one console cover users, applications and agents. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Stated Single console, unified client and centralized policy management for Secure Access, with AI Access integrated into it. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Same status |
Approaches
- SSE
AI controls in a SASE or SSE cloud
Cato NetworksDescribed
CiscoDescribed
- AIG
Standalone AI security layer
Cato NetworksDescribed
CiscoDescribed
- FWG
Firewall or self-hosted AI gateway
Cato NetworksPartly described
CiscoNot in our sources
- Filled square: described on the vendor pages we read
- Hatched square: partly described (a narrower scope, or the enforcement point is not stated)
- Dashed square: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
Responses
Cato Networks
Cato Networks states Watch, Redact and Block; Coach is not in our sources.
Cisco
Cisco states Block; Watch and Coach are partly stated; Redact is not in our sources.
Network and compliance in each vendor's words
| Fact | Cato Networks | Cisco |
|---|---|---|
| Network | A cloud-native, private global backbone spanning 100+ PoPs worldwide, with a 99.999% uptime SLA. The SLA terms are not on the page. Source: Cato Networks: global private backbone · Read 7 Oct 2026 | No PoP or data-centre count on the pages we read. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Compliance | SOC 2 and SOC 3, PCI-DSS Level 1 Service Provider, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701 and 14001, UK Cyber Essentials, CSA STAR Self-Assessment, GDPR and Spain ENS High. FedRAMP is not listed on the page. Source: Cato Networks: security, compliance and privacy · Read 7 Oct 2026 | FedRAMP authorization for Secure Internet Access, VPNaaS and ZTNA. Other certifications are not stated on the page. Source: Cisco Secure Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Analyst placement | Named a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms for the third consecutive year (Gartner, Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms, 28 July 2026). Source: Cato Networks news: Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms · Read 7 Oct 2026 | The SASE page says "Cisco named a SASE Leader"; the analyst firm and report name are not given in the page text. Source: Cisco: SASE solution · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
Which might suit you?
Look at Cato Networks if you want employee AI controls, agent controls and network security under one policy and one console, or if you want to redact sensitive data in prompts inline rather than only allow or block.
Look at Cisco if you run Cisco Secure Access and want shadow AI controls in the same console, or if agent identity and least-privilege access are your main concern.
In the quiz
| Profile | Cato Networks | Cisco |
|---|---|---|
| Shadow AI and prompt data, SASE in place, block inline | First group | Later |
| Agents and coding tools at scale, redact rather than block | First group | Later |
| Shadow AI and prompt data, coach people first | Later | Later |
| US federal supplier that needs FedRAMP | First group · Equal fit | First group · Equal fit |
| Homegrown AI apps on a firewall estate, self-hosted | Later | Later |
| Teams building AI apps, choosing network security now | First group | Later |
| Zscaler customer coaching first, large estate | Later | Later |
| Under 1,000 people, watching shadow AI first | First group | Later |
Limits to check
Cato Networks
- FedRAMP is not listed on Cato's compliance page, which matters for US federal buyers.
- User coaching (warn, then let the person continue) is not described; the stated actions are Monitor, Anonymize and Block.
- Self-hosted enforcement is described only for homegrown AI apps (Outposts), not for employee AI use, and Cato publishes no count of the AI apps it recognises.
Cisco
- Prompt-level DLP, named coding agents and MCP are not described on the pages we read.
- The stated FedRAMP scope names Secure Internet Access, VPNaaS and ZTNA, not AI Access or AI Defense.
Questions
Which states more checks, Cato Networks or Cisco?
Cato Networks states 10 of 13 checks and Cisco states 4, on the pages we read. A count is not a quality measure: check the ones your answers make matter in the quiz.
Do Cato Networks and Cisco publish prices?
Neither publishes prices on the pages we read.
Which one covers MCP and agent traffic?
Cato Networks: Stated. Maps agents, MCP servers and skills, and inspects agent prompts, responses and tool calls. Cisco: Partly stated. Secure Access registers every agent, maps it to a human owner, and quarantines compromised agents with inline runtime monitoring; MCP is not mentioned on the pages we read.