Skip to content
GenAI Security Finder

Side by side · No scores

Cato Networks and Netskope: GenAI security controls side by side

In short

Cato Networks and Netskope both state inspects prompts for sensitive data, controls AI agent and MCP traffic, protects homegrown AI apps at runtime, blocks inline in real time and lists security attestations. Cato Networks states finds shadow AI use, covers coding agents, has a watch or log-only action, redacts or anonymizes data in prompts and one console for AI and network policy, while Netskope states nothing that Cato Networks does not. This page compares published facts only; it does not pick a side.

By The Inline Desk · GenAI Security Finder · Published 2026-10-26

Desk research from the six vendors' own public pages, read on 7 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not run the products.

Cato Networks: described at 2 of 3 control positions (SASE or SSE cloud, standalone AI security layer), partly at 1.>>>>{}People and agentsAI services andMCP serversYour site or data centreSecurity cloud (SASE or SSE)AI gateway and guardrailsFirewall or self-hosted gatewaySSEAIGFWG
  • SSE · Security cloud (SASE or SSE)
  • AIG · AI gateway and guardrails
  • FWG · Firewall or self-hosted gateway
  • Cato Networks: filled square where described
  • Netskope: dashed outline where described
  • Filled square: described on the vendor pages we read
  • Hatched square: partly described (a narrower scope, or the enforcement point is not stated)
  • Dashed square: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
The Prompt Path shows where each vendor's own pages describe a control, or where your answers point. It does not measure how well a product works.

Check by check

As stated on each vendor's own pages, read 7 October 2026.
CheckCato NetworksNetskopeDifference
Finds shadow AI useStated

Discovers shadow AI and coding agents across endpoints and auto-inventories every third-party AI tool, copilot and agent.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security for end users · Read 7 Oct 2026

Partly stated

Continuous discovery of remote MCP servers, clients, tools, resources and prompt requests, and an App Catalog MCP inventory; general GenAI app discovery is not detailed on the pages we read.

Source: Netskope: Agentic Broker · Read 7 Oct 2026

Cato Networks states it
Inspects prompts for sensitive dataStated

Stops data leaks in prompts, with Monitor, Anonymize and Block as policy actions.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Stated

With Netskope One DLP, the broker applies real-time policies that identify and block sensitive information.

Source: Netskope: Agentic Broker · Read 7 Oct 2026

Same status
Controls AI agent and MCP trafficStated

Maps agents, MCP servers and skills, and inspects agent prompts, responses and tool calls.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Stated

Agentic Broker detects and decodes MCP traffic, blocks unauthorized MCP communication to remote MCP servers and enforces least-privilege access.

Source: Netskope: Agentic Broker · Read 7 Oct 2026

Same status
Covers coding agentsStated

Names enforcement for Claude Code, Cursor and Codex and stops risky coding-agent tool calls before they run.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Partly stated

The MCP inventory covers clients including ChatGPT, Cursor and VS Code; coding-agent controls beyond MCP are not described.

Source: Netskope: Agentic Broker · Read 7 Oct 2026

Cato Networks states it
Protects homegrown AI apps at runtimeStated

Blocks prompt injection and jailbreaks and red teams homegrown AI apps.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Stated

AI Guardrails mitigate prompt injection and jailbreak attempts through real-time analysis, inspecting requests and responses in 29 languages.

Source: Netskope: AI Guardrails · Read 7 Oct 2026

Same status
Blocks inline in real timeStated

Checks every interaction inline, with fast checks in milliseconds; Block is one of three policy actions.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Stated

Blocks unauthorized MCP communication and sensitive information with real-time policies.

Source: Netskope: Agentic Broker · Read 7 Oct 2026

Same status
Coaches or warns the userNot in our sourcesPartly stated

Fine-grained policies beyond simple allow-or-block, based on user behaviour and data sensitivity; coaching is not named.

Source: Netskope: securing generative AI · Read 7 Oct 2026

Netskope partly
Has a watch or log-only actionStated

Monitor is one of three policy actions.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Not in our sourcesCato Networks states it
Redacts or anonymizes data in promptsStated

Anonymize is a policy action; Cato states it redacts sensitive data inline.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security for end users · Read 7 Oct 2026

Not in our sourcesCato Networks states it
Can run on your own infrastructurePartly stated

On-prem protection with Outposts is described for homegrown AI apps, not for employee AI use.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Not in our sourcesCato Networks partly
States FedRAMPNot in our sourcesPartly stated

Netskope states it achieved FedRAMP High Authorization (GovCloud); which services are in scope is not stated on the page we read.

Source: Netskope: security, compliance and assurance · Read 7 Oct 2026

Netskope partly
Lists security attestationsStated

Lists SOC 2 and SOC 3, PCI-DSS Level 1 Service Provider, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018 and 27701, CSA STAR Self-Assessment, UK Cyber Essentials and Spain ENS High.

Source: Cato Networks: security, compliance and privacy · Read 7 Oct 2026

Stated

Lists AICPA SOC 2, C5, CSA STAR Level II, IRAP and the Data Privacy Framework; SOC 2 and C5 reports on request.

Source: Netskope: security, compliance and assurance · Read 7 Oct 2026

Same status
One console for AI and network policyStated

Cato states one AI-native engine and one console cover users, applications and agents.

Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026

Partly stated

Netskope One states one engine, one client, one console and one network; how the AI products sit in that console is not described.

Source: Netskope One · Read 7 Oct 2026

Cato Networks states it

Approaches

  • SSE

    AI controls in a SASE or SSE cloud

    Cato NetworksDescribed

    NetskopeDescribed

  • AIG

    Standalone AI security layer

    Cato NetworksDescribed

    NetskopeDescribed

  • FWG

    Firewall or self-hosted AI gateway

    Cato NetworksPartly described

    NetskopeNot in our sources

  • Filled square: described on the vendor pages we read
  • Hatched square: partly described (a narrower scope, or the enforcement point is not stated)
  • Dashed square: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)

Responses

Cato Networks

Cato Networks states Watch, Redact and Block; Coach is not in our sources.

Netskope

Netskope states Block; Coach is partly stated; Watch and Redact are not in our sources.

Network and compliance in each vendor's words

Network figures are stated on different bases by each vendor. We show them as written and do not compare them.
FactCato NetworksNetskope
NetworkA cloud-native, private global backbone spanning 100+ PoPs worldwide, with a 99.999% uptime SLA. The SLA terms are not on the page.

Source: Cato Networks: global private backbone · Read 7 Oct 2026

NewEdge is powered by 120+ data centers in 80+ regions, including Mainland China, with full compute and all SASE services at the edge in every location.

Source: Netskope: NewEdge · Read 7 Oct 2026

ComplianceSOC 2 and SOC 3, PCI-DSS Level 1 Service Provider, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701 and 14001, UK Cyber Essentials, CSA STAR Self-Assessment, GDPR and Spain ENS High. FedRAMP is not listed on the page.

Source: Cato Networks: security, compliance and privacy · Read 7 Oct 2026

FedRAMP High Authorization (GovCloud), AICPA SOC 2, C5, CSA STAR Level II, IRAP and the Data Privacy Framework.

Source: Netskope: security, compliance and assurance · Read 7 Oct 2026

Analyst placementNamed a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms for the third consecutive year (Gartner, Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms, 28 July 2026).

Source: Cato Networks news: Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms · Read 7 Oct 2026

A 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant Leader for SASE Platforms and for Security Service Edge.

Source: Netskope: 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant reports for SASE Platforms and SSE · Read 7 Oct 2026

Which might suit you?

Look at Cato Networks if you want employee AI controls, agent controls and network security under one policy and one console, or if you want to redact sensitive data in prompts inline rather than only allow or block.

Look at Netskope if MCP traffic between AI clients and remote MCP servers is your main concern, or if you need FedRAMP stated by the vendor and already run Netskope One.

In the quiz

Position in each of our example quiz profiles. Fit numbers are not shown.
ProfileCato NetworksNetskope
Shadow AI and prompt data, SASE in place, block inlineFirst groupLater
Agents and coding tools at scale, redact rather than blockFirst groupLater
Shadow AI and prompt data, coach people firstSame fit as Netskope · Equal fitSame fit as Cato Networks · Equal fit
US federal supplier that needs FedRAMPFirst groupLater
Homegrown AI apps on a firewall estate, self-hostedLaterLater
Teams building AI apps, choosing network security nowFirst group · Equal fitFirst group · Equal fit
Zscaler customer coaching first, large estateLaterLater
Under 1,000 people, watching shadow AI firstFirst groupLater

Limits to check

Cato Networks

  • FedRAMP is not listed on Cato's compliance page, which matters for US federal buyers.
  • User coaching (warn, then let the person continue) is not described; the stated actions are Monitor, Anonymize and Block.
  • Self-hosted enforcement is described only for homegrown AI apps (Outposts), not for employee AI use, and Cato publishes no count of the AI apps it recognises.

Netskope

  • General GenAI app discovery and a watch-only action are not detailed on the pages we read; the stated discovery centres on MCP.
  • Redaction of sensitive data inside prompts and user coaching are not described.

Questions

Which states more checks, Cato Networks or Netskope?

Cato Networks states 10 of 13 checks and Netskope states 5, on the pages we read. A count is not a quality measure: check the ones your answers make matter in the quiz.

Do Cato Networks and Netskope publish prices?

Neither publishes prices on the pages we read.

Which one covers MCP and agent traffic?

Cato Networks: Stated. Maps agents, MCP servers and skills, and inspects agent prompts, responses and tool calls. Netskope: Stated. Agentic Broker detects and decodes MCP traffic, blocks unauthorized MCP communication to remote MCP servers and enforces least-privilege access.