Side by side · No scores
Cato Networks and Palo Alto Networks: GenAI security controls side by side
In short
Cato Networks and Palo Alto Networks both state finds shadow AI use, inspects prompts for sensitive data, covers coding agents, protects homegrown AI apps at runtime, blocks inline in real time and lists security attestations. Cato Networks states controls AI agent and MCP traffic, has a watch or log-only action, redacts or anonymizes data in prompts and one console for AI and network policy, while Palo Alto Networks states coaches or warns the user. This page compares published facts only; it does not pick a side.
By The Inline Desk · GenAI Security Finder · Published 2026-10-26
Desk research from the six vendors' own public pages, read on 7 October 2026. Profiles follow our published method; we did not run the products.
- SSE · Security cloud (SASE or SSE)
- AIG · AI gateway and guardrails
- FWG · Firewall or self-hosted gateway
- Cato Networks: filled square where described
- Palo Alto Networks: dashed outline where described
- Filled square: described on the vendor pages we read
- Hatched square: partly described (a narrower scope, or the enforcement point is not stated)
- Dashed square: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
Check by check
| Check | Cato Networks | Palo Alto Networks | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Finds shadow AI use | Stated Discovers shadow AI and coding agents across endpoints and auto-inventories every third-party AI tool, copilot and agent. Source: Cato Networks: AI security for end users · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Stated Visibility into shadow AI, covering GenAI applications, agents and marketplace plugins, with real-time visibility into which apps are used and by whom. Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Same status |
| Inspects prompts for sensitive data | Stated Stops data leaks in prompts, with Monitor, Anonymize and Block as policy actions. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Stated LLM-powered data classification augments DLP, and inline data detection blocks sensitive text- and file-based data. Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Same status |
| Controls AI agent and MCP traffic | Stated Maps agents, MCP servers and skills, and inspects agent prompts, responses and tool calls. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly stated Prisma AIRS lists Agent Identity Security and governance of AI agents at scale; MCP is not mentioned on the pages we read. Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma AIRS · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Cato Networks states it |
| Covers coding agents | Stated Names enforcement for Claude Code, Cursor and Codex and stops risky coding-agent tool calls before they run. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Stated Prisma AIRS lists securing AI coding agents: protect code and credentials, govern agent actions. Named coding tools are not listed. Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma AIRS · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Same status |
| Protects homegrown AI apps at runtime | Stated Blocks prompt injection and jailbreaks and red teams homegrown AI apps. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Stated AI Runtime Security enforces real-time safeguards to prevent manipulation, data exposure and unsafe actions. Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma AIRS · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Same status |
| Blocks inline in real time | Stated Checks every interaction inline, with fast checks in milliseconds; Block is one of three policy actions. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Stated Inline data detection blocks sensitive data, and the page states it stops AI-generated threats in real time. Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Same status |
| Coaches or warns the user | Not in our sources | Stated User coaching notifications when people access unsanctioned apps. Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Palo Alto Networks states it |
| Has a watch or log-only action | Stated Monitor is one of three policy actions. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources | Cato Networks states it |
| Redacts or anonymizes data in prompts | Stated Anonymize is a policy action; Cato states it redacts sensitive data inline. Source: Cato Networks: AI security for end users · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources | Cato Networks states it |
| Can run on your own infrastructure | Partly stated On-prem protection with Outposts is described for homegrown AI apps, not for employee AI use. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Not in our sources | Cato Networks partly |
| States FedRAMP | Not in our sources | Partly stated The trust center certifications page lists FedRAMP and StateRAMP; which products each covers is not stated in the text we read. Source: Palo Alto Networks trust center: certifications · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Palo Alto Networks partly |
| Lists security attestations | Stated Lists SOC 2 and SOC 3, PCI-DSS Level 1 Service Provider, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018 and 27701, CSA STAR Self-Assessment, UK Cyber Essentials and Spain ENS High. Source: Cato Networks: security, compliance and privacy · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Stated The trust center lists SOC 2+, Germany C5, PCI DSS and IRAP, among others. Source: Palo Alto Networks trust center: certifications · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Same status |
| One console for AI and network policy | Stated Cato states one AI-native engine and one console cover users, applications and agents. Source: Cato Networks: AI security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Partly stated Strata Cloud Manager with Strata Copilot manages SASE policy; Prisma AIRS is described as its own platform. Source: Palo Alto Networks: AI Access Security · Read 7 Oct 2026 | Cato Networks states it |
Approaches
- SSE
AI controls in a SASE or SSE cloud
Cato NetworksDescribed
Palo Alto NetworksDescribed
- AIG
Standalone AI security layer
Cato NetworksDescribed
Palo Alto NetworksDescribed
- FWG
Firewall or self-hosted AI gateway
Cato NetworksPartly described
Palo Alto NetworksNot in our sources
- Filled square: described on the vendor pages we read
- Hatched square: partly described (a narrower scope, or the enforcement point is not stated)
- Dashed square: not in our sources (it may exist; we did not find it)
Responses
Cato Networks
Cato Networks states Watch, Redact and Block; Coach is not in our sources.
Palo Alto Networks
Palo Alto Networks states Coach and Block; Watch and Redact are not in our sources.
Network and compliance in each vendor's words
| Fact | Cato Networks | Palo Alto Networks |
|---|---|---|
| Network | A cloud-native, private global backbone spanning 100+ PoPs worldwide, with a 99.999% uptime SLA. The SLA terms are not on the page. Source: Cato Networks: global private backbone · Read 7 Oct 2026 | A 99.999% uptime SLA on its hyperscale backbone. No PoP or location count in the Prisma Access page text. Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma Access · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Compliance | SOC 2 and SOC 3, PCI-DSS Level 1 Service Provider, ISO/IEC 27001, 27017, 27018, 27701 and 14001, UK Cyber Essentials, CSA STAR Self-Assessment, GDPR and Spain ENS High. FedRAMP is not listed on the page. Source: Cato Networks: security, compliance and privacy · Read 7 Oct 2026 | The trust center lists SOC 2+, Germany C5, PCI DSS, IRAP, FedRAMP and StateRAMP, among others; product scope is not stated in the text we read. Source: Palo Alto Networks trust center: certifications · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
| Analyst placement | Named a Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms for the third consecutive year (Gartner, Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms, 28 July 2026). Source: Cato Networks news: Leader in the 2026 Gartner Magic Quadrant for SASE Platforms · Read 7 Oct 2026 | The Prisma SASE page says "A 4X Gartner Magic Quadrant Leader for SASE Platforms". Its Prisma Access page uses a different count, so we cite the Prisma SASE page only. Source: Palo Alto Networks: Prisma SASE · Read 7 Oct 2026 |
Which might suit you?
Look at Cato Networks if you want employee AI controls, agent controls and network security under one policy and one console, or if you want to redact sensitive data in prompts inline rather than only allow or block.
Look at Palo Alto Networks if you already run Prisma SASE and want GenAI app controls with coaching and blocking in it, or if you also want model scanning and red teaming for AI you build, from the same vendor.
In the quiz
| Profile | Cato Networks | Palo Alto Networks |
|---|---|---|
| Shadow AI and prompt data, SASE in place, block inline | First group · Equal fit | First group · Equal fit |
| Agents and coding tools at scale, redact rather than block | First group | Later |
| Shadow AI and prompt data, coach people first | Later | First group |
| US federal supplier that needs FedRAMP | First group · Equal fit | First group · Equal fit |
| Homegrown AI apps on a firewall estate, self-hosted | Later | Later |
| Teams building AI apps, choosing network security now | First group · Equal fit | First group · Equal fit |
| Zscaler customer coaching first, large estate | Later | Later |
| Under 1,000 people, watching shadow AI first | First group | Later |
Limits to check
Cato Networks
- FedRAMP is not listed on Cato's compliance page, which matters for US federal buyers.
- User coaching (warn, then let the person continue) is not described; the stated actions are Monitor, Anonymize and Block.
- Self-hosted enforcement is described only for homegrown AI apps (Outposts), not for employee AI use, and Cato publishes no count of the AI apps it recognises.
Palo Alto Networks
- MCP traffic is not mentioned on the AI Access Security or Prisma AIRS pages we read.
- Employee AI controls and Prisma AIRS are described as separate products; one console across both is not described.
- Redacting sensitive data inside a prompt is not described; the stated responses are coaching and blocking.
Questions
Which states more checks, Cato Networks or Palo Alto Networks?
Cato Networks states 10 of 13 checks and Palo Alto Networks states 7, on the pages we read. A count is not a quality measure: check the ones your answers make matter in the quiz.
Do Cato Networks and Palo Alto Networks publish prices?
Neither publishes prices on the pages we read.
Which one covers MCP and agent traffic?
Cato Networks: Stated. Maps agents, MCP servers and skills, and inspects agent prompts, responses and tool calls. Palo Alto Networks: Partly stated. Prisma AIRS lists Agent Identity Security and governance of AI agents at scale; MCP is not mentioned on the pages we read.